Git push error: RPC failed; curl 56 HTTP/2 stream 7 was reset

Recently, I wanted to push my commits to an Azure DevOps repository using Visual Studio Code. That took surprisingly long, and Git returned the following error:

error: RPC failed; curl 56 HTTP/2 stream 7 was reset

Each and every time I tried.

Google provided me lots of fellow programmers experiencing the same issue, apparently, but no simple solution at first sight. The main cause usually seems to push too large files, like some media files. It’s just … I was about to push rather simple AL code, as I have done in the past.

Before you continue searching, this is the one-liner that helped me:

git config --global http.version HTTP/1.1

It forces Git to use HTTP version 1.1. Use at your own risk 😉

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started